Voyage to The Land of the Cathars and The City of Lights

Tomorrow (Monday) my husband and I embark on a voyage to France, where we will be leading a wine tour through various vineyards in the south (near Toulouse and Carcassone, Cathar country), followed by a walking tour of Paris (where we lived off-and-on for five years).  We will be away until the middle of June, but we expect to have access to wi-fi for most of our trip.  So I while I can’t promise to continue making posts here on a daily basis, I fully intend to post whenever I can, especially since we will be seeing and doing a number of things relevant to the subjects of this blog.

Whenever I travel, I always carry my little Loeb copy of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and tomorrow I will follow my custom of reading the following hymn to my patron god, in both English and Greek, just as the plane is taking off:

Homeric Hymn To Hermes (trans. H.G. Evelyn-White)

I sing of Cyllenian Hermes, the Slayer of Argus, lord of Cyllene and Arcadia rich in flocks, luck-bringing messenger of the deathless gods. He was born of Maia, the daughter of Atlas, when she had mated with Zeus, —  a shy goddess she. Ever she avoided the throng of the blessed gods and lived in a shadowy cave, and there the Son of Cronos used to lie with the rich-tressed nymph at dead of night, while white-armed Hera lay bound in sweet sleep: and neither deathless god nor mortal man knew it.

And so hail to you, Son of Zeus and Maia; with you I have begun: now I will turn to another song!

Hail, Hermes, giver of grace, guide, and giver of good things!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. May Apollon Agyieus upon the road before you, and Hermes keep you safe upon it 🙂 Enjoy you trip!

    Reply
  2. May Hermes and all the gods guide you safely there and back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

